Class E Revisited

Reaction score
I know there have been posts about Class E in the past (in fact, there's one on page 1 of this forum now), but getting direct answers to exactly WHEN one must get approval for Class E is a tough one. According to the FAA study guide, you "normally" don't need approval to fly in Class E. They don't elaborate further in that document.

I'm studying for my Part 107 - can someone confirm I have this right?

Obviously, the 700/1200/14500-foot Class E floors don't normally concern us, since we're not supposed to go that high (but see my comment later). From what I understand, I would need approval to fly in the airspace of a Class E airport. I believe this is denoted on a sectional chart by a dashed magenta ring around an airport, looking very similar to Class D, but magenta instead of blue. I believe I would also need approval to fly in the airspace of an airport that becomes Class E only during certain hours of the day. An example of this would be a Class D airport whose tower closes at, say, 18:00, and becomes Class E in off-hours as noted on the back of the sectional chart.

Conversely, I don't believe I need approval to fly in a Class E Surface Extension of a Class D airport - these are the areas denoted by a dashed magenta area hanging off the side of Class D airspace, or in other disconnected areas not necessarily surrounding an airport.

How about this scenario - I need to inspect a tower that rises 800' AGL. I'm allowed to fly up to 400' over a structure so long as I remain with 400' laterally of it - but this would put me up in Class E if I were in an area with a 700' floor. Do I need to get approval in this case?

Thanks for any input you all have.

John

Thanks, that article was also linked in the other Class E thread. It's a good overview; however, it's written from a manned aircraft perspective and doesn't really address the special considerations we sUAS operators must follow with regard to waivers and notification.