Cheapest best way to increase FPV range

Joined
Dec 29, 2014
Messages
676
Reaction score
253
Age
53
Location
Yorkton Sask Canada
what is the cheapest best way to increase my FPV range, we dont have any hobby shops close by so everything I would have to get for this would be from ebay so some links to the things I would need would be a great help, dont want to go crazy out there just be able to say reach 1200 feet would be nice, right now I only get about 450 feet
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
157
Reaction score
52
Age
41
Location
Cardiff, Wales. UK
what is the cheapest best way to increase my FPV range, we dont have any hobby shops close by so everything I would have to get for this would be from ebay so some links to the things I would need would be a great help, dont want to go crazy out there just be able to say reach 1200 feet would be nice, right now I only get about 450 feet
I had 1300 feet yesterday evening. I ordered a brand new WiFi module, opened it up, applied arctic silver 5 heatsink paste & put it back together before swapping it with the original.

My FPV would progressively degrade during flights. The theory is that they're shipped with poor heatsinking from stock, so over time they begin to overheat, causing signal quality loss. I was still getting telemetry - just no video. I'll need a few more long distance flights in warmer temperatures to be sure, but the first flight blew away any previous personal bests I'd seen with my phantom (which was brand new and unflown when I got it 'second hand').

For less than 8 dollars of your money, it has to be worth a punt :)

https://www.phantomhelp.com/
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,315
Reaction score
7,875
Age
64
Location
Amory Mississippi
Hey Dirk are the RE700 for the vision plus the same as for the vision 2, see alot of RE700 for the plus on ebay but not alot for the vision 2
Yes, The 700 is for the plus but we found it works with the vision and will make it so you can see farther than you can go !
Best bang for the bucks !! Have tried all the little can ones and everything else I saw but this is the best way and looks the same as yours does now !!
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,315
Reaction score
7,875
Age
64
Location
Amory Mississippi

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,315
Reaction score
7,875
Age
64
Location
Amory Mississippi
dirkclod is right. I forgot that you're not using a V+ so you won't have the range extender... try that before pulling your phantom apart (LOL!!).
Ya he just got the RE500 but that 700 kicks butt !!
 
  • Like
Reactions: cjmwales

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,315
Reaction score
7,875
Age
64
Location
Amory Mississippi
okay thanks Dirk buddy gonna get me one of them....
You will be glad ya did bro . I did try the other stuff and spent more money doing all that not counting the time I spent
when I just could have switch those and been better off :)
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Age
54
I was going to post a question on the best way to extend WiFi range under $100 on a PV.
But I won't as I can see from research than simply replacing the RE500 with an RE700 is the easiest and cheapest solution.
I see them now closer to $50 than $100.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,315
Reaction score
7,875
Age
64
Location
Amory Mississippi
I was going to post a question on the best way to extend WiFi range under $100 on a PV.
But I won't as I can see from research than simply replacing the RE500 with an RE700 is the easiest and cheapest solution.
I see them now closer to $50 than $100.
Yea TC they are lots cheaper than when we first found this out . Think it was around $130.00 then :eek:
You will see farther than you can go with just that..
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Age
54
So my RE700 arrived but I cannot get FPV with it. The RE500 works fine.
I can only get the "Phantom Connection Broken" message when I connect to the RE700 Wifi.
It seems the problem must be between to PV camera and the RE700 extender which leads me to believe they dont work together.
I tried on different devices as well.

Why is this?
 
Last edited:

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,315
Reaction score
7,875
Age
64
Location
Amory Mississippi
Just keep trying to rebind it .
I assure you as well as hundreds here will it does work together .
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Messages
9
Reaction score
2
Age
54
This is a major dissapointment. I have tried for hours to get RE700 to bind with my camera and no go.
The DJI Vision app connects to the RE700:

screen_djivision.png


But it will not bind to the camera:
It shows the battery of the RE700 but nothing else

screen_djivision2.png



Any ideas? I am going to have to pursue other options for longer range Wifi?
Again the RE500 that came with it works fine.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2015
Messages
113
Reaction score
25
Age
62
Location
UK, North West
The best way to see if you are using the correct mac address is to use a wifi network scanner and check that the you are using the right one. I am very new to all this, I had a problem similar to your's and through the help of the guys in the know from this board, this is how I found out how to make sure I was using the correct mac address for my RE700 upgrade.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,446
Messages
1,401,381
Members
98,659
Latest member
ToddP3S