Camera swap

Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
73
Is it possible to replace phantom 3 standard 2.7k camera with phantom 3 4k camera?
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
299
Reaction score
94
Age
40
I'm not sure, I think it has something to do with software. This question gets asked often around here.. no expert at all but I'm pretty sure it's been tried


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: NitroMan
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
73
Well I believe there is a model phantom 3 4k , right? I'm wondering if the camera from it will fit a phantom 3 standard.
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
299
Reaction score
94
Age
40
It will fit for sure, but unless someone corrects me, I don't believe that the birds have compatible software, I remember reading something about overheating..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Age
73
A while back "I THINK" I saw a post that someone did it and the app saw the different camera and updated the software. Maybe it's just
wishful thinking on my part.

It will fit for sure, but unless someone corrects me, I don't believe that the birds have compatible software, I remember reading something about overheating..


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
299
Reaction score
94
Age
40
A while back "I THINK" I saw a post that someone did it and the app saw the different camera and updated the software. Maybe it's just
wishful thinking on my part.

That would be cool, I hope someone chimes in


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,844
Reaction score
3,114
Location
Australia
No........ Not a straight swap, and to the extent it might be done probably not be worth the effort/cost.

4K camera at top.

Notice the significant differences in the connectors.





IMG_0200.PNG
IMG_0201.PNG
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: L3thalB3ard

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
142,061
Messages
1,460,393
Members
103,844
Latest member
Bkpiloti69ss