Camera fault - options advise please

Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Age
43
Location
Brisbane QLD Australia
So i will not bore you all with the long winded struggle and bad service from the Australian supplier, and rather just cut to the questions.

My camera and gimbal are damaged, the gimbal is almost back to a working state now but the camera still plays up.
Power own unit all looks fine video comes back to app no issues.
If i press still photo or video to start it will turn off the feed, black screen it then comes back with no sd card error.
I have looked at the following options for either repair or replacement and just wanted some advice please .
Option 1 - repair it, find another supplier or repair option .
unless this is a simple fault then i would do this myself but looking at forums, Google i can not see much about it.
Option 2- replace it - at over $800 in Australia it is not cheap
Option 3 - use the quick release from http://dronexpert.nl ( has anybody done this??) and use a go pro instead

Final option sell the unit and go with the 3DR IRIS instead?

Thanks in advance for you help
 
Joined
May 16, 2014
Messages
3,530
Reaction score
625
Location
Sydney Australia
Where in aus are you?
Try these options:

A. try different SD card.

B. There are 3 cables coming from the phantom to the gimbal. I think the 4 pin-clip cable is damaged. Pull the cable out and inspect it. You need the cable to sit firmly otherwise the telemetry data will grey out.

C. The drone expert is expensive. Just count your losses with the v+ camera and get yourself a H33D ($400) and a 15cm zenmuse cable. Add gopro 3/4 and use the DJI app. I don't add the value of the gopro as I use it for other purposes. Follow the rabbit below:
http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/add-gopro-to-p2v.37886/#post-350712
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2213815&page=17

D. Phantom 3 advance. If you are considering $800 for just a new camera and gimbal, just save the fuss and upgrade. The P3 has a $1200 Lightbridge system and a modified inspire remote (est cost of $250 - I think).

I hope that helps
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Age
43
Location
Brisbane QLD Australia
Where in aus are you?
Try these options:

A. try different SD card.

B. There are 3 cables coming from the phantom to the gimbal. I think the 4 pin-clip cable is damaged. Pull the cable out and inspect it. You need the cable to sit firmly otherwise the telemetry data will grey out.

C. The drone expert is expensive. Just count your losses with the v+ camera and get yourself a H33D ($400) and a 15cm zenmuse cable. Add gopro 3/4 and use the DJI app. I don't add the value of the gopro as I use it for other purposes. Follow the rabbit below:
http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/add-gopro-to-p2v.37886/#post-350712
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2213815&page=17

D. Phantom 3 advance. If you are considering $800 for just a new camera and gimbal, just save the fuss and upgrade. The P3 has a $1200 Lightbridge system and a modified inspire remote (est cost of $250 - I think).

I hope that helps
Mako79, I am in Brisbane (south)
Thanks for your advise, I would like to meet up with another owner to trouble shoot some options with mine if anyone else is in Brisbane?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2015
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Power own unit all looks fine video comes back to app no issues.
If i press still photo or video to start it will turn off the feed, black screen it then comes back with no sd card error.
I just had this exact problem this weekend. Verizon had sent an Android upgrade to my phone.

I uninstalled and re-installed the app and everything was back to normal.

Any chance you just got Lollipop 5.0.2??

Cheers!
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Age
43
Location
Brisbane QLD Australia
I just had this exact problem this weekend. Verizon had sent an Android upgrade to my phone.

I uninstalled and re-installed the app and everything was back to normal.

Any chance you just got Lollipop 5.0.2??

Cheers!
No KitKat, i have 2 phones same version but i have not tried the uninstall and install option, i will however thanks
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2014
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
Age
43
Location
Brisbane QLD Australia
So removing and reinstalling app no change.
I have however come to realize the firmware for the camera has failed
I am not able to update, tried different sd cards, file name changed correct, just get a red light or no light on the camera?
I have look i can not see a way to reset this?
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,857
Reaction score
7,882
Option 2a .. Now that the money is flowing toward the P3, the demand for P2 spares should dry up. Keep an eye on the ebay sellers that buy new P2V+ and part them out. The camera/gimbal combo used to fetch ~$600 but with less demand this might come down quite a bit.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
135,831
Messages
1,405,246
Members
98,890
Latest member
Treeplanter56