Called FAA today about max ceiling

You can't legislate stupidity, nor stop those who choose not to follow any regulation or law or licensing you impose. Ever see anyone texting and driving, or holding and talking on their cell phone while driving? Even if you outlaw flying drones completely, outlaws will still be flying drones. How does that solve any problem? Education doesn't solve any problem either. The real scofflaws already know they shouldn't be doing what they are doing. :rolleyes:
Yeah the problem is, with a pretty easy software mod they can not allow our birds above 400 feet if people start getting stupid, and heaven forbid cause an airplane crash. I am a novice/hobby pilot and generally consider myself pretty "moderate" and don't like more rules or regs... but let's face it flying stupidly has a potential to cause a serious issue and even loss of life. So I would support some sort of basic license requirement as long as it is not tedious and cost a fortune ($5 for an FAA registration seemed fine to me!). -The Dude

The reason behind the 400 foot limit is simple, manned aircraft are limited to no less than 500 feet. One you cross that altitude line, you become a hazard to manned aircraft. I don't want the NTSB investigators to find the remains of my drone inside a crashed private airplane and determine that an air strike with my drone and the injury to the pilot from it caused a crash. That would be a bad day for all drone pilots, commercial or hobbyist.

This is a common fallacy I'm seeing perpetuated throughout the UAS community.

While I'm new to drones I've been a licensed pilot since the 80's. Airplanes can fly as low as they want over open water or sparsely populated areas. The 500' rule only applies when the aircraft is near any person, vessel, vehicle, or structure. If you care to check, this can be found under part 91.119.