3 Month Old Phantom 4 Pro falls out the of the sky!

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to contributing to this forum, however, I have read it for years now. I had my first complete drone failure and resulting crash (I have about 75+ hours on P4Ps) and I am dumbfounded by the lack of warning I received. The drone missed myself and two others by about 10 feet on its silent descent back to blacktop from 300ft, and I am convinced I need a ballistic parachute from here on out. As the title says, I lost a 3 month old P4P with less than 10 hours on it and no previous issues. After reviewing the log immediately prior to the final 45 second flight (DJI Go 4 did not record the final flight for some reason...I do have one last image however), I can see discrepancies with the battery voltage, however, I am not sure if the battery was the failure point, or the drone itself? Any insight is much appreciated. I landed the drone with 25% battery and no warnings as noted in the log file, and then proceeded to take off for another few, apparently fatal, pictures about 30 seconds later. I received no voltage warnings, the drone was hovering contently at 300ft, no stick input, still in the "green" of the battery bar when the video feed and motors quit at the same time (I noticed the lack of noise above). I recognize flying the drone with 25% battery is not necessarily the wisest thing to do, however, I have had no negative experiences to date and typically bring the drone down at 17% or so, trying to get every last minute of flight time. I am just shocked I received no warnings!