1st Flight

Reaction score
I took my P4P to the Nevada desert and had a good time getting use to it. I live under an airport traffic pattern and wanted to go to a place where I wouldn't be distracted. And a place where I could exercise it w/o bothering anyone. I took my dog, and we had some fun in an area I've camped at twice before. I flew an X5C practice drone a bit, always indoors to get ready for this. I also have a commercial, instrument, helicopter license, but haven't flown a Huey in over 30 years. But looking in the Hoodman at that 10.5 ipad was very much like hopping back in the cockpit, I felt really comfortable. The video is rock solid and on my 4K TV looks amazing. I uploaded a couple to Youtube
I'm still a big rookie at this I know. I flew 2-3 times a day for 3 days and had a blast, with F-18's from Fallon flying high cover for me :) My 1st Q... Not wanting to risk the safety of my expensive flying camera, how far could I fly in open country like this in calm conditions? of course keeping it insight visually :). And if anyone sees the video sorry about being so jerky but I wasn't thinking cinematic.
DJI_0003.JPG
DJI_0007.JPG
DJI_0016.JPG

No clue what range a P4 has in stock form, but my P3S without the ARGtek had 2000'-2800' range at max(legal) AGL. The booster doubles it pretty easy. Going a bit higher (say max ceiling 500m) you could, hypothetically, go farther. NOT saying I have, mind you. But ya could. Hypothetically... Being a pilot yourself you understand the risks involved with it. Living near Ft Leonard Wood, and having Whiteman AFB A-10s constantly overhead keeps my altitude low around home. I've sneaked away and found my bird's limits in far distant areas like you did. As stated, mine has a Hard Ceiling of 1640' (500m) but no real horizontal limit so far. Nerves will keep yours pretty close for a while, as do mine.
Great video, btw! I thought it looked pretty good!
Brad