Why, oh, Why an ND filter?

I'm a Pro Photographer too, but get a lot of aerial video requests for clients too. The primary reason you see lots of people discussing ND filters is simply due to the fact they want to achieve cinematic smooth video by using the 2:1 ratio rule. Shutter speed is 2 times Frame Rate, most folk record cinematic at 30fps so they look for a 1/60th shutter speed. 60fps = 1/120th shutter speed. I have an 4 set ND filters (ND4,8,16,32) and choose which one to put on based on the average light of the day such that, by keeping ISO 100 and a reasonable FStop it gives me my 1/60th shutter speed. I also capture still imagery at the same time, with the ND filter on, which unless you're shooting stills whilst fast manoeuvring, keeps everything looking sharp, but you can always take down your FStop or up the ISO a little if you want to bring the shutter speed up for a few still shots. Hope that helps a little. If i'm flying for stills photography only hen I don't use an ND filter, unless i'm looking for special smoothing effects of course.

My two cents.. I use a ND filter so my videos aren't over exposed. Both video and pictures turn out great with the filter! I would not fly without one.
The intended use of ND filters has nothing to do with controlling exposure. Their sole purpose is to control shutterspeed. If you are using them to prevent over exposure, you completely misunderstand their use.

Reactions: svjobeth
The intended use of ND filters has nothing to do with controlling exposure. Their sole purpose is to control shutterspeed. If you are using them to prevent over exposure, you completely misunderstand their use.

Although correct in principle there are likely OPs who set a shutter speed for cinematic which results in perceived ‘over exposure’ hence they use an ND in their minds to correct for over exposure. Just a different way to look at it I guess!!