What to buy, for aerial photos?

Reaction score
Hi, I'm all new to this forum and to drones.

I want to give my dad aerial photos of his house, from every season (winter, spring, summer and autumn).
I search the internet and finally found a good deal, for 4 photos for 1100$. He is using a Phantom with a GoPro camera and I was like: "Yeah I will buy that" Until I search for the drone and found out it's almost the same price for the drone as the 4 pictures.

So now I've been looking around the internet for drones to buy. Even if I won't use it for more than the 4 photos, I may be able to sell it very cheap and in the end it will be much cheaper total, than buying 4 photos alone.
It seem that Phantom drones are one of the easiest to learn to fly and control, for a complete newbie that haven't touch RC heli or drones before.

So that ends up with the Phantom with a mounted GoPro Hero3 camera or a Phantom 2 Vision.

The vision really appeal more to me, for the live feed on your phone. Since I have no practice with blind flying and taking pictures. Also the opinions online about who take best still photos and best video are kinda 50/50 between the Phantom vs Phantom 2. Some say Vision take better stills and worse video, some say Vision are better in everything, some say GoPro is better in everything etc etc.
But then I can read all these problems with the battery. And DJI will come out with a software update soon, to maybe resolve the issue. And that made me stall for buying anything right now.

I know the opinions are divided. But only for taking still pictures, what is best between these 2 machines? I'm thinking on printing them in A3 scale, so if anyone have any experience printing that large would be great. Or else A4 size would do.
Is the flying blind not that hard to master?
Is there even a 3rd option or even more?

Hope to get some more info, from you people that have much more experience. Thank you