Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Using the map

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Hugh-1, Sep 20, 2015.

  1. Hugh-1

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    I'm using a iPad air2 wifi only device. When at a location will the map update to that location without there being a wifi connection being available? If the map can't be update at a location then how can a correct map be provided? I've seen where you can connect via a phone hotspot but also many people recommend putting the iPad into airplane mode thus rendering the hotspot connection no good. The whole thing is confusing. Any help will be appreciated very much.
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    867
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Connect your Ipad using a phone as a hotspot, let the app load and cache the map, once you have the map on the app, turn off the hot spot on your phone, put your Ipad on Airplane mode and fly-- on airplane mode it wont be picking up and local wifi interference.
     
  3. Hugh-1

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Syracuse, NY
    I've tried something like that but instead of loading the new location map the map from the previous flight location just sits there. Do I need to do something to initiate loading of the new location map?
     
  4. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    121
    While in wifi and in the Go app open your map. You'll see that your "Homepoint" has been established. Now move to where you want to fly. (This is called caching the map). Once you're satisfied with the location, leave the map you set on & turn off the Go app. Turn on Airplane Mode on your iPad. Next time you turn it on, you'll be in that location & your NEW Homepoint will be established when you're at that location & ready to fly.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Using map Forum Date
Caching maps using dji go 4 and iPad Air 2 Phantom 4 Help Jun 24, 2017
Using Maps Made Easy For Measuring Volumes Surveying and Mapping Apr 16, 2017
Trouble using route tracker with google cached maps. Phantom 4 Discussion Sep 6, 2016
Professional Whats the secret to using the DJI Go built in map? Phantom 3 Help Jun 10, 2016
How I added a panoramic photosphere to Google Maps using my Phantom 3 Advanced Pro/Adv Discussion Feb 21, 2016