Thinking of making a purchase

Reaction score
Hi I am new to the forum. I live in Dallas tx. I have never flow a drone or anything for that matter. I did buy a 100.00 helicopter last year that I took out and it went up once and I took my hand off for the decent and it came straight down.that was the end of that. I certainly don't want another trial as that. Especially since this new venture is sure to cost my a lot more then the heli.
Any input here would be great. Iv been looking at the phantom 2 Vision. Looks like an awesome piece of machinery. My concerns are that I have no experience flying and don't want to buy a toy this expensive and only be able to use it once or twice. I plan on taking it real slow. Readin as much as I can on the subject. I just don't see why buy a cheaper model if it's not what I'm looking for.
I really like what iv read about the gps mode where it virtually hovers in one place giving you time to use your camera.
Question : I read that the older phantom and thr gopro that u had to get for it went on the same frequency so you couldn't run both at same time. This has been fixed with the vision hasn't it?
Do you think I should start off with a cheap 100.00 model and play with it first and be totally disappointed or just go with the purchase I can be proud of?

We go Atv four wheeling a lot with my family and I plan on getting some incredible shots and video. Also my boys age 10 play football and again would be excellent way to get some footage.

Curious to what y'all got to say...thanks for having me...and Merry Christmas!

Hi and welcome.
Depending on your budget and your confidence, get a Hubsan X4 first for under $50. Great to practice with. Then get a Phantom.
And if your budget is tight, get a Vision+, not one you have to fit a GoPro to. To do the GoPro fully will cost a few hundred more than a Vision+.