Strange Fetish

Reaction score
I am still somewhat new to this hobby (quadcopters). I used to fly RC planes back in the 80's. My P3s is very cool, and I am delighted with it. In fact, I am still kind of old-fashioned (perhaps from my old RC plane days) about watching my bird fly. Visualizing and maintaining spacial direction/orientation, and the like. I rarely look down at my tablet. I know my relative speed, height, and direction from visual input and experience. Heck, my sole mod is a strong (Inspire 1 style) tablet holder.

The strange fetish I read about every day is the hellbent need for many Phantom pilots to fly at great distances. (Farther than the FAA rules allow..... remember line of sight???)

I see plenty of fellows boasting of their distance records.
I see lots of posts about modifying antennas to fly farther than original design.
I see fellows likely imagining themselves to be military drone pilots that fly via big monitors and easy chairs from thousands of miles away.
I also see some folks get in trouble while their birds are very distant.

Not to "bag on" you guys too harshly, but.... What is this strange fetish for flying at great distances? :confused:

same as the need for speed

image.gif

Um, since the beginning of recorded time. When haven't we had that thrill of pushing the limits?

What's the point of this post aside from lecturing others about how it's against FAA "rules?"

Why do people buy sports cars that go 180mph? (Remember there are SPEED LIMITS?).

Not to "bag on" you too harshly but you should stick to flying RC.

Some of us enjoy technology and taking advantage of its capabilities.

Reactions: JBJO and ObiDon