Still photography: Mechanical v. Rolling Electronic Shutter

Reaction score
I currently have the Phantom 4 Pro and love it... except for one thing: It's a pain to drag everywhere! As an old-school still photographer, I love that I can adjust the aperture and it has a mechanical shutter.
So when I read the MP2 would have the same sensor as my Phantom 4P and have an adjustable aperture AND be much more portable, I pulled the credit card from my wallet. Then I learned the shutter on the MP2 is an electronic rolling shutter, not mechanical. After doing some web research, it appears (in theory) the mechanical shutter will yield superior still images (I usually print 16x20).

Am I splitting hairs here, or, all other things equal, will the P4P provide better printed still images than the MP2?

After doing some web research, it appears (in theory) the mechanical shutter will yield superior still images (I usually print 16x20).
Am I splitting hairs here, or, all other things equal, will the P4P provide better printed still images than the MP2?
Are you shooting subjects where fast movement is a big factor?
If you shoot landscape type material, you'll never notice any difference.
If you shoot pictures of helicopters in flight, you'll see curvy rotor blades.

As has been said the mechanical shutter provides no advantage other than avoiding potential strange rendering of fast moving elements in the frame. Exposure accuracy can be every bit as good (perhaps better) with exposure being controlled by the sensor. Another advantage is less moving parts. If you look at how a mechanical focal plane shutter operates you will find at shorter exposures the second curtain begins to follow the first across the frame before it is fully open, effectively creating a slit that moves vertically. Not dissimilar to how the digital exposure is captured.