So, what good is "Part 107?"

The guy is trolling.

Reactions: BigAl07
Twice wrong.
It is NOT simple. And:
If I am roofer & my boss knows I have photography hobby
& asks me to snap some hand-held photos of roof without
paying me extra for taking those images, that absolutely
does NOT make me a professional photographer.
The intent at the time of taking photos was to follow
boss request which did NOT involve extra income.
I REMAINED a photography hobbyist throughout in the
eyes of IRS, the ultimate professional-commercial
determiner-judge... I am a professional roofer, not a
professional roofer-photographer. If I later leave that
job to get hired as a "roofer with a drone that can take
roof photos regularly" then YES, that's a case made
for being a roofer-photographer...

You, my friend, are 100% WRONG! You're mixing IRS standards and FAA Regulations.... that's a bananas to corn comparison. One doesn't affect the other.

Your previous comment "YOU, SIR, ARE OVERRULED. " says it all. You are trying to justify your actions and you've done so very incorrectly per the written regulations.

The exchange of compensation (money, tickets, beer, favors etc) is not the ONLY inclusion into making a flight Commercial or not. In fact, we should exclude the word COMMERCIAL from the conversation because it's but one aspect that requires Part 107. In the US you have roughly 3 "NonMilitary" options for flying sUAS. Every flight, by default, is a Civil Flight which requires Part 107. The only way the flight isn't Civil is if you're flying under some umbrella/bubble of protection from Part 107. This could be as a Hobbyist or flying under a Public Use COA (Emergency Services, LEO etc).