Return to home function

Reaction score
Is there a way using the stock transmitter to activate the return to home function on my DJI Phantom other than turning off the transmitter ?

I assume there must be a way to do this without resorting such a scary act of faith in the GPS technology :shock:

muabg said:
Is there a way using the stock transmitter to activate the return to home function on my DJI Phantom other than turning off the transmitter ?

I assume there must be a way to do this without resorting such a scary act of faith in the GPS technology :shock:

Not that I'm aware of.
But trust me, turning off the Tx works. (99% of the time apparently)

Gildo said:
Advanced manual: page 10.

Switch S2 to off, and to HL.

Thanks for your reply but I think that only marks you home position, what I am looking for is a way to trigger the phantom to return to home without resorting to switching off the transmitter.

I have extensive experience flying a Cinestar 6 with a Graupner transmitter which has a switch to trigger return to home flight. I only use this in case of emergency such as loss orientation of the aircraft which is stressful enough and I do not want to add the stress by also turning off my transmitter. :eek:

You don't have to worry.

I have used RTH by turning off the transmitter multiply times and it works 100%. Also if you lose orientation, you do not need to do RTH. Simply just switch to HOME LOCK and pull back on the sick.

This craft is pretty advanced RTF. I feel very safe flying it.

those of us who've installed Futaba's have the ability to flip a switch to turn on Failsafe,
but it really is no different than turning off the DJI transmitter.
- think of the off switch as just another switch that turns on RTH when flipped. simple as that.
(plus it's much less prone to accidentally being tripped.. which I've done once before with my Futaba)