Quick question: POI Intelligent Flight Mode

Reaction score
Hello, I'm fairly new to drones but a veteran in filming. I'm planning out some shots for a trip coming up and I had a thought.

I want to use the POI flight mode at the edge of a cliff that my subject is standing on. If I take off from the top of a cliff and my drone only thinks it's 40 feet in the air above my subject, when it finally makes it around to the cliff part where it's 500 feet above the ground will it know not to descend?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I couldn't find it anywhere on the internet. This in its self leads me to believe that... no, it will not. Figured I'd check.

Best,
j1n

Hello, I'm fairly new to drones but a veteran in filming. I'm planning out some shots for a trip coming up and I had a thought.

I want to use the POI flight mode at the edge of a cliff that my subject is standing on. If I take off from the top of a cliff and my drone only thinks it's 40 feet in the air above my subject, when it finally makes it around to the cliff part where it's 500 feet above the ground will it know not to descend?

Altitude if always and only based on the take off point. That is 0. Does not matter if you fly over a cliff or up a hill.

Altitude if always and only based on the take off point. That is 0. Does not matter if you fly over a cliff or up a hill.

You know, now that you said that. It just reminded me that GPS is calculating the height of the aircraft, not the VPS (on the bottom of the craft). So if I take off from 300 ft above sea level, and then start POI 50 feet above that, it will use 300 ft above sea level as 0 altitude and keep the 50 foot height?

If it takes off beside you and rises to 50 ft up, then you fly it away from you out over the 500 ft cliff drop off, it will say it is only 50 feet up.