Question regarding if i can fly here

Reaction score
Hello
i am new to flying, i had a couple questions hopefully i can get some help with and not be a pain in the butt
so below screenshot shows my home area, and then an advisory about an airport, the airport it is saying has been closed for prob 15 years, there has not been a plane housed on it or landed on it in that amount of time, there never was landing lights, or even ATC at this airport
I called the number on the advisory and they confirmed that the airport is officially closed, so am i good to fly here without calling anyone else?

also, there is a hospital located further southwest that has a landing pad for Healthnet helicopter to come in and out of (this is not there homebase)

also, lets say that this was being used, does everyone call everyday to let them know that they are going to be flying there drone?

1539710898419.png

You tried to call so that's due diligence. You should be good to go, just keep your eyes open as always. I would call back and record the message just cuz I'm a little paranoid about people that know just enough to cause trouble.

and to be even more clear, this was a airport, that after it was closed was bought by the state and is used as part of the 4H Camp thats located across the road from the runway, they have built cattle barns, they hold county fairs etc.. on the runway now days
so when i called, i was transferred to the 4H camp office and then transferred to "someone that knows more about what your talking about" and thats when she advised it is officialy closed as an airport
WV23 was the name of the airport

also, the helipad thats listed to the southwest but im still in the circle for that also, do i need to call about that too?

I believe most people don't but if you plan to fly there often it might be good to call or go knock and introduce yourself and state your intentions. Better to make a Friend prior than to make an enemy after

Check out this website: