Power available without battery?

The problem with all phantoms since the P2 is the serial comm with the battery. Therefore a battery or some hack to simulate the comm from a batt is required. I have no knowledge of any such hack.

Is there any way to power the drone without having to use the battery, meaning an electrical hookup.

Not one that is price conscious for personal use. There is such a thing as a "Tethered Power Source" but they are only for specific aircraft and insanely expensive. They are designed to allow very long flights (time wise) for things like "Special Events" and such.

Here's but one example:
Tethered Drone Systems - Aeromana - Tethered Solutions for Drones

I have considered making up an adapter using a connector similar to the connection on the battery and furnishing the correct voltage furnished by a regulated power supply to the proper pins. This adapter would be inserted into the battery cavity and plugged into the drone’s Power input. I had considered this device to allow configuring the Phantom and also heating the IMU before a long flight and avoid using any battery power until ready to fly. The outboard power could be turned off, remove device and insert battery to finish up powering up and flying

I don’t know if this would work as described but I haven’t convinced myself that it would not. Someone else may have already tried this.
Good luck
Jim
WA5TEF

Kind of sounds like a dollar solution to solve a dime problem?

Reactions: Archangel3356