Phantom 2 iOSD Mini reception.

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm kind of new to this, I'm really just a photographer who has a flying object to take HD videos and digital pics with, but I'm looking for some feedback.

I've got a Phantom 2 with turnkey setup done by B&H photo of New York City with a GoPro 3+black camera hooked into an iOSD mini and a 5.8G video link. I really have not flown the craft all the high or far from me and my monitor which is a Elvid Skyvision monitor, that is attached to my DJI remote by one of those white CAD holders. My issue seems to be a very weak signal from the craft to the monitor, when I get any kind of distance away the thing flickers like crazy. Out of the box it came with a pair of white I believe they are "cloverleaf" antennas, and I have since spent over another 50 bucks for a pair of 5.8GhZ blue beam whip antennas, which essentially produce the same result. I noticed that if I touch the monitor antenna, clarity happens but only momentarily. Like I said the most distance I've been doing in open areas is no more than 200 ft up and no further than 1000 ft away. Any ideas? there are dip switches on the monitor but no switch combination other than the one they instructed does the signal any better. Was buying these other antennas a mistake? is there something I'm missing here?

Just making sure, since a lot of my action video sequences will be better executed if I can get a more consistent image on my monitor. Thanks for any suggestions in advance!

Marshall
Plate C Studios
Chicago, IL.