PC ground station alternatives to waypoint flying

Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Age
25
Hi guys, it's my first post here :) I'm a happy owner of GJI P2 :)

I'm using my phantom to photogrammetry flying throug waypoints generated by PC ground station, but as far as I know DJI PC ground station will be useless in december, is there ANY alternatives (i know there is iPad gs but it's only 16wp - maybe it's enought??) or in about month from now my phantom will be useless for me? Do you have any knowledge about it? Thanks in advance :)
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
404
Reaction score
57
Location
Australia
I have GS too but yours must be one of the older versions.Mine will work with PC or iPad,it's just a matter of which you have and downloading the matching software.
The version I have,Wireless Data Link Module,2.4G Data Link LK24-BT Bluetooth Support,only has 16 waypoints regardless of weather you use PC or iPad.

I have in the last few days made attempts to contact DJI about the discontinuation of PC support requesting more information about what options I have and what their intentions are regarding firmware upgrades and such but so far they have snubbed me and disregarded my questions by simply telling me I have sent my message to the China sevice center and I should address my concerns to a sevice center closer to me.Then they provide links to North America,Europe,Korea and Japan,not much use to me in Australia.
Regardless of which sevice center/region I send messages to they come back almost imediately to tell me I have sent my message to China.
 

LuvMyTJ

Admin
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 9, 2014
Messages
9,274
Reaction score
5,565
Location
Live! From New York!
Google Earth is ending and GS used the maps, hence the end of PC GS.
Also, the old sales units contained both PC & iPad versions, the newer sales units did not, it was either one or the other.
With GS built into new P3's the writing was on the wall. :(
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
404
Reaction score
57
Location
Australia
Wel I'll consider myself lucky that I got the version I did then.At least I can still use it if I can find an ipad that will have ios 8 on it.
Mind you I would prefer an Andriod version of the software or something because ipads/ipad minis are very expensive here,$400 to $500 used and $500 to $1200 new.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
39
Reaction score
2
Location
Sydney Australia
Hi PTCX I have been using the iPad version of GS for over a year, I started with the pc version but borrowed an iPad and went out and bought an iPad Air. I was starting to like it when iOS 8 came out and killed my Dual Bluetooth receiver for 3 months but the GS kept working. iOS 8.4.1 got everything working again but then IOS 9 killed everything. If I were you I would wait until DJI addresses this issue and then buy an Ipad. I am sure you will be happy with the iPad GS which uses different satellite imagery from google earth by the way. Make sure you wait for the iOS 9 to be fixed because I had to buy a second hand IPad with iOS 8.3 which works with GS but I can't find any way to get iOS 8.4.1. I upgraded my first iPad and after a few days you can't go back.
Johnbig
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
1
Age
25
Especially photogrammetry options which plan your waypoints in the area you want to "film"
 
  • Like
Reactions: LuvMyTJ
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
404
Reaction score
57
Location
Australia
Thanks Johnbig,some details there I was not aware of.
Many of the ipad/ipad air that are available here have ios 7,does that work OK?
I can always update to ios 9 later when DJI sort something out with that.

I won't get much time to play with the PC version by the looks of it so maybe I won't miss any extra features as much as those who have had it longer.
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
39
Reaction score
2
Location
Sydney Australia
Hi PTCX I could only mannage to get 8.3 but GS works with that. My BT receiver needs 8.4.1 but the phantom supplies the GPS to GS.
I'm working with a bloke from Gyra who got a 2nd hand Ipad with 7 something on it but he is still learning and I dont know if it is his setup, the GS or the IOS and it's a long drive from Sydney to Gyra
but he might be able to come here so we can sort something out. I will let you know which version of 7 he has when we sort something out.

johnbig
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
404
Reaction score
57
Location
Australia
I received a reply from DJI in response to my questions and they said there will be an update for the system to work with ios 9 soon,this month.
Well there were two replies to two messages sent,one said ios 9 update this month,one said may be this month.Make of that what you will but heres hoping.
It should make those who have updated to ios 9 happier.
So I will wait to see what happens and ask santa for an ipad for xmas.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Chuckster-1007
Joined
Oct 12, 2015
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Age
60
Hello i can tell that DJI have fixed GS for Ipad, its working great
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2016
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Age
41
To answer the question, even if a little late... UgCS

The basic version is free. I'm just getting into it, but it's very powerful. You can even load in camera profiles to assist with your photography planning.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2017
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Age
41
I have a Phantom 2 with a go pro 3+ silver. With fpv, what I would like to know is if with the necessary accessories for the fpv, I can carry out scheduled flights using mapsmadeasy.com
I have never done it and I do not have experience but I would like to be helped, since I dedicate myself to agriculture and would like to do some topography.
Can somebody help me??
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
139,050
Messages
1,435,124
Members
100,987
Latest member
DubDizl