Non-Destructive Inspection (NDI) Methods for plastics.

Reaction score
After reading a thread about a guy having a prop come apart in flight, resulting in his loss of his P1 Quad, I thought I would make a thread about something I've thought up for inspecting our Props and the shell itself. I'll have to try it out to see if it will work on metal bits however, we are primarily going to focus on the plastic pieces since there are so many of them on my P2V+ V3 and all of our Quads, unless using an aftermarket Prop, will benefit.

I've been building computer for a good many years. I've been using water cooling for much of that time. For those true geeks among us, my very first water cooling system used an A/C radiator from a Chevy Chevette and a run of the mill garden fountain pump to provide circulation. A custom milled CPU block and pieced together retention system saw my old AMD K6-2 400 CPU hit 450MHz. HUGE performance gains back in the day!

So applying some basic knowledge from the evolution of computers and water cooling, I think I'm going to give this a shot to see what I can come up with for NDI methods. In particular, we would us what's called Dye Penetrate Inspection methods. See this link for more information on the methodology.

I'm thinking of using a non-conductive, UV reactive fluid like this.

A single 32oz bottle would last a good, long time. As long as the solution is kept in a cool, dark space, it will last for years. As long as it isn't milky looking, as long as it is clear, it is a usable solution. I've had some of this stuff last for 10 years.