Newbie needs advice

Reaction score
I am a new heli pilot. I guess I have 50 hours flying, but all helis. I can do a lot of things indoors in a big place. I am new, but not totally. I have three helis, and have only broken one in the last three months.

I want to get a quad, and try to make some money. Or just use it for my own needs, or to post things to my website.

That said, I am buried by a mountain of choices and opinions. I have read about the Blade 350 quad, the DJIs, IRIS, Cheeson, and others. Price range seems to be wide, from $350 to $3500.

Are there sites that conduct OBJECTIVE ratings based on performance, required skills, weight carrying capacity, battery life, crash resistance, et al?

I like buying more than I need so that I don't outgrow it. I would welcome suggestions for a robust quad for photography. I want a gimbal camera, preferably a Hero, but are there alternatives? I want return home, multi fly modes, SAFE technology or equivalent, wifi, screen monitor live time of what the camera is seeing, ability to put a large capacity battery and data storage card, and a good parts replacement program. I want to buy JUST ONE GOOD ONE that will last for long enough to see if the idea can be developed into a business, even if it is a break even deal. I would rather spend a little extra, and have one that has good weight capacity and handling in light winds rather than the lower end that is just marginal in performance.

I have noticed that I do not see a lot of them for sale used. Is everyone holding on to them? Is the used resale reasonable, or is there substantial loss when selling a new one? Is buying a used one a good idea?

Pardon the multiple questions, and info, but I want to provide background info so you can reply specifically.

What would you recommend for a quad, battery, and camera? All comments read and filed accordingly .... ... .. .

The Phantom 3 just launched today has made any other quad under $5000 obsolete.
Really .. it's that good.