Need ability to take very clear still shots

Reaction score
I was very disappointed when I learned that the majority of this still photographs taken with drones, were taken from a very high altitude or from a distance. I was hoping I could sneak up on large birds, such as rosette spoonbills and get a good clear photos or fly along side of them and get some action photos. I’m a professional wildlife photographer and my photos need to be immaculate. Due to severe back problems, I’m not able to sneak up on the birds like I used to.

I suppose another option would be to carry my camera with the drone and take pictures. With batteries it weighs roughly 4 pounds and costs about $1500. Some shots would be over salt water or swamps. A crash would be rather costly.

Any ideas, guys?

Carlos

Any ideas, guys?

Consider that a Phantom sounds like a weed wacker and can't be used to sneak up undetected on a bird?

Also consider that it's not practical to fly along close to bird with something that the lightest impact could cause it to crash.

A drone does not sound like the tool you are looking for.

Welcome @Carlosh11934, Sneaking up on feeding or resting large birds is not an easy thing to do with a drone. Without bringing any ethical or environmental concerns into this you will find that drones are loud enough and create a lot of air disturbance that most birds will not tolerate them. It is not impossible and many people do have good images.