Making my mind up about editing software

Reaction score
Hi everyone! This is my first post.

I've recently got a P4P+, waiting until now regarding drones for the technology to get good enough for acquiring quality aerial footage at an affordable price.

One of my first questions was "Which editing software do I use?" I read and re-read reviews and looked through this forum. I'm not a film professional, but do work to reasonably high standards. I've never done digital editing before, although I made four 30 minutes films many years ago in the days of tape (not that I remember any "how to" stuff). And I'm a PC/Windows user.

I considered PowerDirector and Premiere Elements, and especially Adobe Premiere Pro (of course). But I eventually decided on DaVinci Resolve 14 - the free version. And the fact it is offered free is simply mind-boggling, as it's clearly a professional-level product.

I'm just beginning to learn how to use it, but it's amazing.

There are YouTube tutorials, especially for DaVinci Resolve 12.5 which are still usually helpful. Yes, there's a learning curve as there is for anything - but it's not too difficult and you can quickly start editing.

I hope my experience is useful for anyone else who is deliberating "What editing software should I use?"

Hi everyone! This is my first post.

I've recently got a P4P+, waiting until now regarding drones for the technology to get good enough for acquiring quality aerial footage at an affordable price.

One of my first questions was "Which editing software do I use?" I read and re-read reviews and looked through this forum. I'm not a film professional, but do work to reasonably high standards. I've never done digital editing before, although I made four 30 minutes films many years ago in the days of tape (not that I remember any "how to" stuff). And I'm a PC/Windows user.