Looking for high end landscape photographers using the P4P.

Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
303
Reaction score
345
A search of this forum did not reveal that high quality landscape photography was a big interest here. I am a professional photographer and produce dramatic hi res images and prints using top o the line digital camera equipment. I want to get as close to that as I can with my Phantom 4 Pro plus v2.0. It's my entry to drones so I didn't start with the much more expensive models. I've already learned that video and photographic approaches and equipment settings are quite different. I'd like to chat with like minded users. Or, do I have to figure it all out on my own? Thanks! You can see my work at www.jeffreysipress.com.
 
  • Like
Reactions: jpbroomfield
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
1,956
Reaction score
965
Location
Irvine (Orange County) CA
A search of this forum did not reveal that high quality landscape photography was a big interest here. I am a professional photographer and produce dramatic hi res images and prints using top o the line digital camera equipment. I want to get as close to that as I can with my Phantom 4 Pro plus v2.0. It's my entry to drones so I didn't start with the much more expensive models. I've already learned that video and photographic approaches and equipment settings are quite different. I'd like to chat with like minded users. Or, do I have to figure it all out on my own? Thanks! You can see my work at www.jeffreysipress.com.
Like you I'm a photographer that purchased a drone as another tool. You'll get excellent results with the P4P. Everything you already know can be applied except now your camera is 200-300 feet in the air. And I think that camera ranges from f2.8 - f11.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
431
Reaction score
88
Age
53
Location
UK-Lancashire
A search of this forum did not reveal that high quality landscape photography was a big interest here. I am a professional photographer and produce dramatic hi res images and prints using top o the line digital camera equipment. I want to get as close to that as I can with my Phantom 4 Pro plus v2.0. It's my entry to drones so I didn't start with the much more expensive models. I've already learned that video and photographic approaches and equipment settings are quite different. I'd like to chat with like minded users. Or, do I have to figure it all out on my own? Thanks! You can see my work at www.jeffreysipress.com.

Your web links not working !?

Regards
Simon - Aerial-Image
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Messages
440
Reaction score
163
Age
30
It’s pretty much like any other camera, though I’d avoid aperture f6-11 because of diffraction, and ISO over 800.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
303
Reaction score
345
I believe the camera on this drone is a fixed f2.8. Normally not my best landscape aperture, but seeing that there will rarely be a close foreground to maintain a focus for and a long camera to subject distance, I think it may work fine.

Sorry for the bad link. Something's going on with the server. I need to fix that this afternoon.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2017
Messages
224
Reaction score
141
Location
Fort Worth, TX
The camera on the P4P is not a fixed f2.8. It ranges from 2.8 to 11. The "sweet spot" is either f4 or f5.6. Stick with 100ISO to keep down noise unless shooting in very low light. Best of luck.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
103
Location
Mendocino CA
I'm also a longtime pro photographer and use my P4A+ for aerial landscape/seascape shots. It's the exact same camera as on the P4P. When I first moved from my P4 to my P4A I ran afoul of the fact that the newer camera is focusable, unlike the fixed-focus of the P4. I suggest making sure you get a good focus on an area in the scene that has good detail, or you may get some blurry shots.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JeffreyS
Joined
Jul 24, 2016
Messages
178
Reaction score
45
Age
63
I used to be a pro photographer until my condition caught up with me. Happy to chat if you wish. I still just take still images with my P4Pro not moving pictures, although gifs are peaking my interest at the mo. Currently always shoot AEB for HD images.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
303
Reaction score
345
The camera on the P4P is not a fixed f2.8. It ranges from 2.8 to 11. The "sweet spot" is either f4 or f5.6. Stick with 100ISO to keep down noise unless shooting in very low light. Best of luck.
Hey, you're correct, Jarrod! I checked the DJI site just now. I was previously misinformed by someone else. If I can control the aperture remotely, then I'll be thrilled.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Alba Drone
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
303
Reaction score
345
I'm also a longtime pro photographer and use my P4A+ for aerial landscape/seascape shots. It's the exact same camera as on the P4P. When I first moved from my P4 to my P4A I ran afoul of the fact that the newer camera is focusable, unlike the fixed-focus of the P4. I suggest making sure you get a good focus on an area in the scene that has good detail, or you may get some blurry shots.
Thanks, Nick. I'm getting the Plus version with it's built in touch screen. I believe I can tap a spot on the screen and the camera will focus there. Hope so.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
103
Location
Mendocino CA
Thanks, Nick. I'm getting the Plus version with it's built in touch screen. I believe I can tap a spot on the screen and the camera will focus there. Hope so.
Yes the focus spot is indicated on the screen by a small rectangle, initially at the center. You can move it by touching where you want it to focus. Yes, you can contol the lens opening with the right side knurled wheel. Pressing in on thea wheel clicks a switch that changes the function from ISO to Exposure index, and the selected function is highlighted on the screen in the top margin.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
303
Reaction score
345
Nick, If I'm reading it right, I don't think that aperture setting and exposure index are the same thing. Does exposure index mean exposure compensation or just tell you the current f stop setting? That makes sense. Never saw that exact term.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
256
Reaction score
103
Location
Mendocino CA
Nick, If I'm reading it right, I don't think that aperture setting and exposure index are the same thing. Does exposure index mean exposure compensation or just tell you the current f stop setting? That makes sense. Never saw that exact term.
Yes I meant exposure compensation. To change the F stop you use the setting menu on the right side of the screen. First select still or video camera, then click on the triple dot symbol to get the settings. They are separate for still and video shooting.
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2016
Messages
7,813
Reaction score
3,074
Location
Australia
What you presumably already know about exposure, composition, subject and lighting are the important elements. The P4 is so good it basically flys itself, no skill required in flying. Familiarisation with flight regulations and a quick read of the manual and you will be set to go.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JeffreyS

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,648
Reaction score
7,698
Yes I meant exposure compensation. To change the F stop you use the setting menu on the right side of the screen.
The right thumbwheel on the controller can be used to change shutter speed, ISO, aperture and exposure compensation.
You don't have to use any screen menu.
 
Joined
Nov 23, 2018
Messages
303
Reaction score
345
The right thumbwheel on the controller can be used to change shutter speed, ISO, aperture and exposure compensation.
You don't have to use any screen menu.
Well wouldn't the settings show on the screen when you make the changes using the thumbwheel? How else would you know what they are?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2014
Messages
431
Reaction score
88
Age
53
Location
UK-Lancashire
You can see the difference on the screen when you alter settings f/stop, iso etc
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,648
Reaction score
7,698
Well wouldn't the settings show on the screen when you make the changes using the thumbwheel? How else would you know what they are?
As you push the right thumbwheel (click, click) you'll see the exposure parameters changing to blue.
When the field you want to change is highlighted in blue, turning the thumbwheel wil adjust that setting.
Here the aperture is highlighted and you can change it with the dial.
There is no need to do it through the screen as mentioned in post #13.
 
  • Like
Reactions: With The Birds

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,648
Reaction score
7,698
A search of this forum did not reveal that high quality landscape photography was a big interest here. I am a professional photographer and produce dramatic hi res images and prints using top o the line digital camera equipment. I want to get as close to that as I can with my Phantom 4 Pro plus v2.0.
Here are a couple of examples to give you an idea what can be achieved with your Phantom
I love my Nikon equipment but it won't go to the places to get images like these.




 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,577
Messages
1,392,251
Members
98,101
Latest member
Airfx