How close is too close to cell towers?

Reaction score
Hey all,

I've read many posts across the internet saying to avoid flying near these at all costs. Others said they fly next to them with no issues.
I'm a pretty cautious pilot but there's a building falling down that I want to get some pictures of and there's a cell tower about 50-80 yards away.

Too close for comfort or fly?

Attachments

• 2017-12-23 11.37.24.jpg
    2017-12-23 11.37.24.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 818
Here is a inspection video that I did with a P4P. I try to stay out of the direct line of the radiating elements. I had more interference with the water tower. Go figure.

Reactions: Billy Banana
Theoretically speaking, you should not have any issues. Frequencies are not close.

If you were to somehow get close enough to an antenna that was radiating that overloaded your receiver. Your Phantom might lose signal. And try to RTH, maybe right thru the tower........OUCH.

Then again it might not..........haha

Take your chances and have fun!!!!!!!!

Reactions: MotorCycle-Man
And one other point. Cell Phone towers can sometimes have other services on them. Like Micro Wave antennas and Ham Radio etc.

So you never know.

And one other point. Cell Phone towers can sometimes have other services on them. Like Micro Wave antennas and Ham Radio etc.

So you never know.
However IF you flew in a directed "micro wave" beam....wouldn't that concentrated beam.....fry the drones electronics and the drone would fall from the sky ?

However IF you flew in a directed "micro wave" beam....wouldn't that concentrated beam.....fry the drones electronics and the drone would fall from the sky ?

I don't know about fry. What could happen is the receiver circuits could get overloaded as you got closer and it would disrupt the incoming signal. And yes that would at minimum induce the fail safe ,RTH. Hopefully not permanent damage, as in FRY:(

But who knows haha. Maybe we need a real RF engineer to jump in here.