Hover app and Class D airspace

Reaction score
I am a recreational drone flyer. I was flying today and DJI GO 4 said I was in Class D area. Since the Hover app showed that I WAS NOT within five miles of the airport, I didn't think anything of it. Why did I get that notification and what should i have done about it? My guess is that it doesn't apply to me because I am not commercial flying with a 107, but I am a real newbie, so I really don't know. Thanks!

As a part 101 (Hobby/Recreational) flyer you need to be concerned with both. Let me explain:

Hobby/Recreational you are required to make notification prior to flight 5 mile or less within controlled airspace except B or BRAVO in which you are required to get ATC approval prior to entering BRAVO airspace. So you'll need to know what distance you are from the ARP (Airport Reference Point) as well as what airspace you are attempting to fly in.

If you were not within 5 miles of the airport you really didn't need to do anything except fly safely and keep your eyes and ears open. It's your responsibility to do whatever it takes to not interfere with manned aviation in any way.

Keep this in mind... if any part of your flight falls outside of Hobby/Recreational guidelines as set forth in Part 101, your flight defaults to Part 107 Rules/Law which are fully enforceable and can carry a heavy fine/penalty.

Good luck and SAFE flights :)

Still a strange app sometimes :p

Oh I agree completely. You'd think the maps were pretty reliable because it's built off of AirMap.

Reactions: dirkclod
As a part 101 (Hobby/Recreational) flyer you need to be concerned with both. Let me explain: