GOpro3Black Wifi signal

Reaction score
Hi all,
Newbie here. Gotta say I love the Phantom! Question ... what is the deal with the wifi signal coming off a Gopro3 Black? does it interfere with the Phantom signal? I have read that it may cause flyaways is this true? Any recomendations on the wifi use or not use.... ?

Also, I would like to add a gimbal to my phantom - I wish I could afford the Zenmuse but my budget does not allow it. Any recomendations on a cheaper one (until I can save the money to get the DJI product)? I have seen some on ebay for about a hundred bucks from China - anyone have any experiences with them?

FlyingSquirrel said:
Hi all,
Newbie here. Gotta say I love the Phantom! Question ... what is the deal with the wifi signal coming off a Gopro3 Black? does it interfere with the Phantom signal? I have read that it may cause flyaways is this true? Any recomendations on the wifi use or not use.... ?

Also, I would like to add a gimbal to my phantom - I wish I could afford the Zenmuse but my budget does not allow it. Any recomendations on a cheaper one (until I can save the money to get the DJI product)? I have seen some on ebay for about a hundred bucks from China - anyone have any experiences with them?

-yes,. DJI even warns against having the GoPro wifi turned on , so keep it off (it's useless anyhow, as the 4+ second delay is unbearable/annoying)

-probably ideal to hold off on the cheap chinese gimbals, they often come with no manuals and iffy construction.
at this point, your best bet is probably the Tarot gimbal that sells for $150 or so. (make sure you get one with a controller).
or an Arris for $300.

Then use the money you saved to go towards FPV goggles and perhaps a better Transmitter

Gizmo3000's advice is "right on".