Fly aways? Pilot error?

Reaction score
I'm really new to multi rotors and honestly i'm baffled. The phantom 2 is a crazy good and reliable machine. If I keep my phantom calibrated and tuned. What really can go wrong?

I keep seeing horror stories about Fly aways, VRS. VRS i understand.

I know this is probably been beat to death but i can't seem to find the discussion on this topics. Why so many stories of fly aways? I don't understand?

I also understand the logic on how to recovery from VRS.

What should the procedure be to recover from a possible fly away?

Flyaways do happen but I think they are a lot rarer than people make out.
The thing is, when one happens to a pilot the first thing they do is go "TO THE INTERNETS!" and moan about it.
Now think about all the people who have an uneventful flight. They don't immediately go online and say "I didn't have a flyaway today".

There are of course a lot that can be attributed to pilot error.

So.. I've just had a flyaway with my 1.1.1, I've flown it about 30 times in this (rural) location, today it seemed to have a little trouble getting the last satellite, it went thru the usual thing and I got the first set of rapid green flashes then I got a series of green flashes interspersed with a single red flash and then eventually the usual steady green flashing.. (at this point I'm not 100% sure that I saw the usual second rapid flashing green sequence) .

I launched in GPS mode and it was behaving normally, started flying it around in a few big circles when it suddenly tilted to the side, appeared to throttle up and took off.. In the past if I've lost orientation or it got a bit far away I've gained altitude and used home lock to bring it back but this time it ignored me, I lost sight of it behind some trees and switched the transmitter off at which point it seems it tried to return to me but didn't clear the trees and is currently sitting about 40ft up in a blue gum :(

Waiting to hear back from a tree climber :|