Flight Altitude and Resolution: P4 vs. P4P

Reaction score
Hello all!

I'm a civil engineer and we've been using a Phantom 4 to produce aerials and topography information to develop conceptual designs and determine the feasibility of some engineering projects. GCPs are being used, which are measured by our survey crew. We've been laying out flight plans and performing the flights using the Drone Deploy app, and then we process everything in Pix4D.

For a number of reasons, we've now upgraded to the Phantom 4 Pro. With the Phantom 4 Pro's 20 MP camera (versus the P4's 12 MP camera), I suspect that we can fly higher (and therefore spend less time flying) and produce aerial imagery of the same quality as what we were getting from the P4. Is my logic flawed or does that make sense? Looking for any thoughts / ideas / pitfalls.

Thanks!

I know that the panoramas I shoot with the P4P are much higher res than ones shot at same location and altitude with my P3P, so my guess is your logic is solid. Someone techier than me can probably tell you how much higher you can fly for the same relative resolution.

Hello all!

I'm a civil engineer and we've been using a Phantom 4 to produce aerials and topography information to develop conceptual designs and determine the feasibility of some engineering projects. GCPs are being used, which are measured by our survey crew. We've been laying out flight plans and performing the flights using the Drone Deploy app, and then we process everything in Pix4D.

For a number of reasons, we've now upgraded to the Phantom 4 Pro. With the Phantom 4 Pro's 20 MP camera (versus the P4's 12 MP camera), I suspect that we can fly higher (and therefore spend less time flying) and produce aerial imagery of the same quality as what we were getting from the P4. Is my logic flawed or does that make sense? Looking for any thoughts / ideas / pitfalls.

Thanks!