Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

First long distance test

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Xanadu, Mar 23, 2014.

  1. Xanadu

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stock Phantom 2/H3-2D/ImmersionRC600w/Black pearl using all stock antennas.

    At an altitude of about 70 meters made it 2,048 meters until I chickened out. Video was starting to get a little choppy. It was EXTREMELY windy and didn't want to rely on fail safe to bring it home.

    Once I put the helical and the IBcrazy antennas on this I have no doubt it could double that.

    So how far will this stock DJI transmitter work?

    Thanks,
    Landon
     
  2. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Stock controller is good for 5000m.
     
  3. Maxxborg

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. George, Utah
    5000m. No way?
     
  4. Xanadu

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Went back out and got to 2500M and it went into fail safe. I was standing next to my truck so that may not have helped (it was holding my Black pearl as the bracket I ordered is taking a month to get here).
     
  5. thongbong

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    11
    When did you order your black pearl and from where? It sounds like they improved it if you got 2000m stock.
     
  6. Xanadu

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rangevideo.com, and yes still have the original omni antennas on both sides. I just got 2500M this evening, the stock Phantom 2 transmitter gave out before the video did. I was standing next to my truck so I think that may have attributed to the failsafe. I'll happily get you some photos if you want.

    -Landon
     
  7. Xanadu

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh wait, forgot to mention that I ordered about a month ago.
     
  8. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    Well here's my flight at 4500m:

    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_aZlZx4QFTI[/youtube]

    and there is another member on this forum that claims 6000m

    All stock controllers. ;)
     
  9. Maxxborg

    Joined:
    May 17, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    St. George, Utah
    Your osd is hard for me to read. Did you fly out 2250 meters and back 2250 meters for a flight of 4500 meters total?
     
  10. thongbong

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    11
    incredible, most people cant get more than 500m with everything stock on the BP and IRC600. Maybe you got a good one, I ordered my BP same place same time also. What's the terrain you are flying over?
     
  11. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
  12. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA

    This is freaking nuts!

    I see that you have the Immersion 5.8GHz 600mW Tx - What is your Rx? Is it some crazy setup? I have this FPV solution from Helipal: http://www.helipal.com/storm-all-in-one ... eluxe.html
    I start to static and crap out after like 1000ft distance, with BlueBeam antennas. I'd be happy with the advertised 500-800M range they say but I'm not even coming close to that. Would I benefit from the Immersion Tx? Would that even work with my LCD Rx? Am I doing something wrong? Where do babies come from?

    Awesome flight. How were your nerves?
     
  13. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    I use the ImmersionRC 5800 Duo Diversity receiver with 1 Blackhawk Micro helical and 1 Nimrod antenna.
    My video far outperforms the controller range now.
     
  14. tawd77

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome range! I would suggest having your roof replaced soon though. lol ;)
     
  15. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland

    LOl, its just the coating that has weathered, the concrete tiles are fine !!
     
  16. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    What did you use to overlay your Flytrex info into your flight video?

    I've seen a few different videos with overlays but they all look different or contain different data.

    A quick search brought me to DashWare . . . is that what you used? I assumed Flytrex came with something to do that, but I'm starting to believe it's separate.

    Sorry. Flytrex noob here. Thinking about ordering.
     
  17. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Just educated myself a bit on Dashware :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - long distance test Forum Date
A friends first long distance test Pro/Adv Discussion Jul 10, 2017
Testing long distance navigation and RTH feature on P3P Photos and Video Aug 19, 2016
Not getting long distances Flight Data Analysis Jul 30, 2017
losing video feed at long distances Standard/4k Discussion Jul 24, 2017
Mission failed to upload: way point distance too long Control (Go, Litchi, etc..) Jun 30, 2017