First flight , and thank you for your help!

Reaction score
Short time lurker, first time poster.

Hi Guys and Gals, first off, Thanks to DJI for such a neat little device, and a special thanks to all the posters on this forum for their wealth of knowledge on the Vision and its systems. I'm new to aerial RC craft, or, UAV's, so this forum has been invaluable reading in preparation for my purchase of the DJI Vision.
I am retired aircraft technician, so flight principles and nuts and bolts are not foreign to me, and am literate with building PC Systems which has also been helpful.
Although 4 propeller, 6 axis flight is still a bit of a mystery to me, I certainly intend to learn it all, along with photography and videography for a potential Real Estate photography venture, should they become legal to do so in the near future.

I watched all of Colin Guinn's videos, which initially is what sparked my interest in the Phantom, and several more from many authors and posters across the internet as well. I was impressed with the relative ease these craft seem to fly with. I was immediately sold on the idea of owning one, but knew, that "I" was not ready,... even if the aircraft COULD fly, right out of the box. So that began my quest, studying the difference between the toy heli's and quads versus the more hobby grade (RTF/BNF) and onto the serious enthusiast grade like the S800/S1000 with onboard stabilized HD video...all of it , very awesome to watch.

That lead me to watch tons more videos from DJI Phantom Video competition, to the cutting edge FPV systems that people were flying from their back yards. I was impressed to say the least. My first purchase was a Blade Nano QX to learn the controls, I began that 1 week after Christmas, so, I'm still not a great pilot, but I'm getting there.