FAA looking for entry level Air Traffic Controllers

Difficult training from what I hear. I have two friends that made it through the selection process. One made it through a'll the training and testing and is working as a center controller. The other washed out after a few months of training but he is trying g to get for the rotation.

As a pilot, I have nothing but respect for the ones that do the job and maintain a good demeanor. It's a super stressful job at times.

As a pilot, I have nothing but respect for the ones that do the job and maintain a good demeanor. It's a super stressful job at times.

Ditto! Most people don't have a clue the level of stress they get under and how they are able to do so much to make our "efforts" easier and safer.

I had to declare an emergency the same day I obtained my PPL and ATC was AMAZING!!

I have two friends that have gone through the training in OKC. You have to be intelligent and have a very good sense of spatial orientation. Both said it was grueling. One made it through the other got washed out after about eight weeks (hoping to give it another try). The one that successfully made it through training got through the various levels of working in different tower environments and is now at the regional center on LI covering in route traffic in the northeast. The top pay is very good but it takes a lot of work to get there. He is also a pilot so he sees things from both sides of the microphone.

Ditto! Most people don't have a clue the level of stress they get under and how they are able to do so much to make our "efforts" easier and safer.

I had to declare an emergency the same day I obtained my PPL and ATC was AMAZING!!
What was your emergency? I've had a couple myself, but thankfully neither occurred on my checkride day. That had to have the adrenaline going.

What was your emergency? I've had a couple myself, but thankfully neither occurred on my checkride day. That had to have the adrenaline going.