Drone Invasion:Pilot's Point of View

Reaction score
Editorial copied from the current AvWeb. Just a point a view from people who use the NAS regularly. It's a bit long but worth the read.

Written by Joseph Conrad, Heart of Darkness

Just a few short months ago, I called them “flying FOD.” My opinion regarding the unmanned aircraft now proliferating has since evolved, though as a pilot, I remain concerned about this powerful and potentially dangerous technology falling into the wrong hands. That includes ignorant as well as malicious hands. I don’t want to see one on final approach, or just after takeoff, or, worse yet, not see one until I hit it.

Unmanned aircraft, drones in the popular parlance, are selling like hotcakes, and like it or lump it, we who have invested thousands of dollars and dozens or hundreds of hours to become certificated pilots will have to deal with them. The cat is out of the bag, and it is prowling. Actually, about 700,000 cats, according to the most recent estimates. Many people (and not only pilots) are in a tizzy over this. I was, until recently, among them. I am more hopeful, now, that we will manage this transition without bloodshed.

I have seen many drones, met many operators, and seen a glimpse of what the future may hold. In September, I attended an unmanned aircraft convention in Las Vegas, where Chris Anderson, CEO of 3D Robotics, one of the leading manufacturers of small UAS, compared the dawn of the drone age to another technological leap forward, the arrival of the Internet.