Drone hits public car in Oz

Reaction score
http://tenplay.com.au/news/melbourne/2016/2/4/anger-over-drone-pilots

Someone flew a Yuneec from their backyard, flew 2kms before it dropped from the sky and hit a car. Pilot hasn't come forward of course. To be honest, I really do have to wonder why these things are capable of flying that far away, I imagine some folk here like that feature but it scares me witless. I have a P3A and am too scared to let it out of my sight [emoji52]

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

It's strange how we don't hear about this happening every day. Millions of drones, millions of cars and thousands of careless consumers.

UK

I guess it doesn't have to happen thousands of times to be an issue though...imagine if it had hit a pedestrian or cyclist and killed them.

I am new to all this and I am very surprised at how far these are capable of going, and all the crashes I read about on here amazes me that someone hasn't gotten hurt badly

To be fair, these things aren't generally that heavy, you'd be pretty unlikely to hurt someone "badly". But when there's a potential claim at stake of course, even a bent fingernail seems to count as an injury these days. Then there's the mental distress etc. etc. etc.
Happily I live in a country where the 'compensation culture' hasn't caught on (yet?)- and long may it continue.

I guess it doesn't have to happen thousands of times to be an issue though...imagine if it had hit a pedestrian or cyclist and killed them.

Wouldnt be so bad if it was a cyclist, they are so anouying on the roads especially when they are wearing all that lycra just to get to work...your not in the tour de france!! Ive just had a brainwave im going to create a new sport.....drop a drone on a moving cyclist!!:eek:

Reactions: flpholt