Converting Phantom2 to P2-Vision

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am very new to all this - So please bear with me, I am learning as I go along.
I know this is a huge post.. if you want just skip to the "Problem" part at the bottom.

I just picked up a Phantom2 from my local recycling center for free, this is what I got in the box:
  • P330z Quad Copter
  • H3-2d Gimbal & rubber mount (no camera)
  • Lots of rotor blades
  • DJ6 2.4ghz remote
  • 2 batteries (with around 10-15 charge cycles each)
  • Charger
After some initial struggles to install the vision software on windows 10, I managed to get everything connected and upgraded.
I flew it a bit, it all works fine, so I thought it would be cool to add some photo / video capability.

I then purchased via auction the following:
  • PVT581 5ghz remote (TX)
  • 5ghz board (RX)
  • RE500 Range extender
  • FC200 Egg camera
  • 2 Connection cables
Initially, I did not realize why it was necessary to change to 5ghz (After reading stuff like this Thread, I understand a bit better)

For the moment. I have just installed the FC200 into my quad and moved the range extender over to my 2.4ghz remote.
The camera powers up, maintains vertical orientation, takes photos / videos and stores them on the SD card.
I managed to find an .APK for DJI vision for my android device

Now, to my problem:
I am trying to bind the RE500 to the FC200, but it wont bind.
I do not get an error message, it just returns to the main screen but no binding has happened.
I see 3 possible causes for this:
1) Inteference, I have not switched my TX & RX to 5ghz
If the TX is switched off, then I don't see where inteference would come from.. no?
2) Inteference, is my 2.4ghz wifi / security cameras etc at home causing problems?
3) Faulty RE500 (I have read that people have issues related to a forced update by the DJI vision software.. I have not been asked to update anything, but maybe the previous owner did this?)