Compass Calibration and Other Issues

Reaction score
I just bought a brand new Phantom from Amazon.
I am new to all of this, and the instructions and online tutorials are poorly written at best. I am trying to calibrate the compass. I start by turning on my Remote Control, then I plug the battery in to the Phantom, it flashes red and yellow consistently indicating the compass is not set. So, I toggle the top right switch between GPS ant the bottom ATTI several times, but the light on the phantom never turns yellow....
I have connected the Phantom to my computer and with the NAZAM software upgraded the firmware. I have calibrated the the transmitter. I also tried importing the default Configuration Parameters, all to no avail.
Any ideas??

Also, why are there two ATTI options on the Remote Control? What does CL and HL do?
A better question for the manufacturers - why does the instruction manual not come with a schematic with all parts clearly labeled and explained?

Thank you for your help in advance!

http://www.dji.com/tutorial/phantom-tutorial/

You may want to watch the video above, in particular the last one which shows you how to reset the compass.

As for the CL (Course Lock) and HL (Home Lock) are the god send features for many because they will enable you to control your Phantom when you lost your orientation.

CL works by using the compass, once activated no matter what direction the Phantom is facing if you pull the right stick back, it will come back to you starting position or home point (assuming it was properly recorded earlier either automatically about 30 seconds after the power up or manually set). Note also that CL will only work when Phantom is 10 meters or more from the home position.

HL needs 6 or more satellites to work, similar to CL but "toward" the home position in any angle not straight line grids as the CL.

Note once it is back pass the home point it will work as below:

CL-vs-HL-01_zpsfbf621ef.jpg