Beware of Spinning Props!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to the Phantom, but I’m continually surprised when I hear comments on forums or YouTube, of how "These Props Won't Hurt You, They're Only Plastic"... These Props are VERY dangerous and WILL slice you open! I had it happen when I went to pick up a crashed unit with motors still running, In a split second I had eight fairly deep cuts to my hand from one of those suckers and bled big time. Spread the word to Take care.

tsp1000 said:
I'm relatively new to the Phantom, but I’m continually surprised when I hear comments on forums or YouTube, of how "These Props Won't Hurt You, They're Only Plastic"... These Props are VERY dangerous and WILL slice you open! I had it happen when I went to pick up a crashed unit with motors still running, In a split second I had eight fairly deep cuts to my hand from one of those suckers and bled big time. Spread the word to Take care.

That's what I have kept telling people here, but falls on deaf ears. I have a walkera Hotenx Which is smaller and have been cut several times with this even and made me bleed.

If anyone has seen a plastic knife? You can still cut with these and a blade travelling 100's of times faster then you can cut, the are like razor blades. Think on Facebook, om the DJI phantom owners page their is a photo of a guys head cut to bits from A Phantom.

It is assumed that the Phantom being small and plastic blades will only hurt you, but truth is can make a mess of your hand of fingers no trouble.

People here don'rt know the dangers of any spinning blade and don't take any warnings seriously. These things need to be treated with great care. Hope your lesson, people here will take notice.

I'm not at all surprised that they can damage you quite badly.