Beginner Drone Help Please

Reaction score
Hi,

Apologies if this is in the wrong place, but - I'm a complete beginner to any form of drone flying or aerial videography. I've been a film maker for the last decade but would really like to purchase my first drone to just have a play around with what footage I can get from above.

However, I'm having a really difficult time finding which drone is best for me. At the moment the shortlist for me is any of the Phantom 3 Series and the Phantom 4.

My needs are that:
I am a beginner who would need to learn how to fly from scratch.
I am hoping to have footage that could be used on commercial web and promotional videos.
4K isn't that important as I rarely produce content past 1080p.

The reason that I'm having such a hard time is that every blog post seems to say that all of them are fantastic drones and that the jump between the Phantom 3 and 4 isn't that great apart from the object collision avoidance system.

Does anyone have any experience in using the 2.7k camera on the standard or advanced at a professional level (is it good enough), or should I save up to get either the Phantom 3 Professional or the Phantom 4?

Many Thanks,
Jamie

Since you didn't mention funds being a problem, I'd say go with the P4. That way when the P5 comes out, you're only one generation back.

The reason that I'm having such a hard time is that every blog post seems to say that all of them are fantastic drones and that the jump between the Phantom 3 and 4 isn't that great apart from the object collision avoidance system.
The jump between the Phantom 3 and 4 is not huge skill-wise. You could easily start flying a Phantom 4 if you already know how to fly a Phantom 3. Build-wise, the jump is enormous and very impressive. Check out all of the new changes here.