Batteries not charging

Reaction score
20180119_170256.jpg 20180120_195457.jpg Hello everyone, I'm very new to the drone world and looking to get very into it very fast. I got my first drone yesterday... yes, yesterday, never flown one before, or even seen one outside the store before then either, so I'm very very new.

I am not, however, not a newb to electronics, I've been a semi pro photographer for 10 years now and ran my own computer repair shop for a couple years before that, so I'm well versed in how these things "should" work, so don't be afraid to use technical terms.

So here is the story so far...

I bought a p4p and an extra high cap battery yesterday, got it unboxed, grabbed the non high cap battery and plugged it into the wall immediately. I finished unboxing the rest of the gear and got the software downloaded, spent some time getting things figured out, then about 45 mins after plugging it in I checked the status of the battery. I was a little surprised to see that it was still flashing the first LED. I've never used one before, so I just assumed that it must take a long long time to charge these things if its still at 1 led after almost an hour.

About another hour later I checked it again, same 1 flashing LED.

I understand that lipo batteries are a little unreliable, so I figured I must have a dud, unplugged it, grabbed the high cap battery, plugged it in, about an hour later It was still at 1 flashing LED...

I was a little concerned at this point. Sometime in the last 3 hours I read the manual I downloaded online and remembered the section on flashing LED error reporting, so I found the section and according to the LED it seems to be telling me that it is too cold to charge. I live in Canada, but my house isn't particularly cold, so I'm pretty sure they aren't too cold to charge.