2.4 ghz booster 1W

Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
hi what do you think about this ?

2.4 GHz WLAN Booster / Verstärker | 1000mW / 1 Watt / 30dBm | 2x2 MIMO, 300MBit | eBay

the 2,4 ghz for Videotrans. to have more stable video.
at the moment I using Argtek and sometimes changing the antennas but now I would like to boost up the signal of the 2 x 2,4 ghz lines and to use one panel for both together.
I use amps myself with a DBS, have two 2.4 wifi amps @ 2.5 watts, and a 5.8 amp @ 2 watts. Personaly I would get a min of a 2 watt amp for the wifi, no less.
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
Maybe this will help:
Here's my setup before my amps were added, but this is the hard part:
DBS mod.jpg
Inside of RC DBS mod.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Age
34
Location
Belgrade,Düsseldorf
I know this how to do ,thanks :)
but you send me the link with a booster and the booster need energy.
is it possible to take the rc as battery?
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Age
34
Location
Belgrade,Düsseldorf
the gold one on 5v?
so it can run with a dc to USB adapter on a 5v power bank?
so I connect this between one of the 2,4 ghz and the antenna and then switch it on and the range of the video trans should be better? :)
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
the gold one on 5v?
so it can run with a dc to USB adapter on a 5v power bank?
so I connect this between one of the 2,4 ghz and the antenna and then switch it on and the range of the video trans should be better? :)
Yes to both. That's one reason the gold amps are better. More power options and they are half the size and wight.
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Age
34
Location
Belgrade,Düsseldorf
what do you think how big would be the distance in town when I would put 2 of this amp inside for each of the antenna for video downlink. that should be easy 500 m?!
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
what do you think how big would be the distance in town when I would put 2 of this amp inside for each of the antenna for video downlink. that should be easy 500 m?!
Depends on what your getting currently. I would guess an increase of maybe 50% at most.
New setup:
IMAG0268.jpg
IMAG0269.jpg
 
Joined
Nov 7, 2016
Messages
36
Reaction score
2
Age
34
Location
Belgrade,Düsseldorf
great :)

i will order the same amp and will build in inside so that only the antennas comes out and the battery of a size of half pack of cigarettes on the back where the dc to usb plugs comes out.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
1,956
Age
66
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
I see Hobby King do boosters for 2.4 and 5.8 ..... both can run of a 3S lipo.

Thinking to investigate their use ....

One question that is unanswered - the 2.4 on the standard is split to two antennae. Is one Tx and other Rx or is it one rec'g telemetry and other video ? Why two ?

Nigel
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
I see Hobby King do boosters for 2.4 and 5.8 ..... both can run of a 3S lipo.

Thinking to investigate their use ....

One question that is unanswered - the 2.4 on the standard is split to two antennae. Is one Tx and other Rx or is it one rec'g telemetry and other video ? Why two ?

Nigel
From my understanding they are the same. They are not Tx vs Rx, or video vs telemetry. The wifi module simply switches between them back and forth, which ever one is receiving a stronger signal at the moment.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
1,956
Age
66
Location
UK Brit living Latvia
Reason I ask is it could affect how the boosters are used. For the 5.8 it is simply fit and go.
But having two antenna for 2.4 may not be just a simple matter of installing two boosters.

Nigel
 
Joined
May 30, 2016
Messages
1,751
Reaction score
487
Location
Lancaster, Pa.
Do you guys think that installing the boosters inside the RC could cause interference?
There's no room inside to install two amps, and even if there were I wouldn't.
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
4,239
Reaction score
1,956
Age
66
Location
UK Brit living Latvia


That's 2W booster on 2.4Ghz and a 2W booster on the 5.8Ghz .....

Power supplied by the 6.6V LiFe battery on velcro .... 2.4Ghz booster is rated to 5V maximum and therefore I have a BEC of 5V fitted to drop the LiFe voltage down ...

I am thinking to add another 2.4Ghz booster to the other antenna because I get occasional disconnects on video ... and previous info of each antenna does both two way is possibly not correct. It appears to not be diversity.

But still I have good range of over 4500m ... not bad for a P3S !!

Nigel
 

Recent Posts

Members online

No members online now.

Forum statistics

Threads
142,057
Messages
1,460,353
Members
103,836
Latest member
Mark VAn\