Volumetric Deliverable

Reaction score
Has anyone completed volumetric calculations for a client? Was it a requirement to have the volumetric calculation signed off by say an engineer, surveyor or other authority to guarantee accuracy?

I have a possible contract to produce volumetric calculations of rock stockpiles and was curious how others have delivered their volumetric products and what QA/QC was involved?

I'm a licensed engineer and surveyor with a drone business on the side and I've never heard of something like a stockpile needing an engineer's stamp of approval. If it does, that must be some QA/QC requirement by a contractor. Your calculations are only as good as the person doing them so show your work and provide all backup information in a way that people can understand, not just a gibberish flight log text file or what have you.

Thanks, I spoke with the client and they do not need any stamp from an engineer or such. Their requirement is for the relative accuracy to be good as they said they can tolerate a 100mm difference between the floor and stockpile.

Every model I have generated thus far has been at approximately 200 feet elevation flight grids so my GSD is quite small and the accuracy has been very good from doing some ground truthing measurements.

I also plan to include some non-RTK GCPs for which I'll accurately measure on the ground to include in my Pix4D workflow as you can introduce Scale Constraints into the Point Cloud in this manner to ensure the point cloud has high relative accuracy compared to real world measurements.

Thanks for the feedback.

Cool. Since it's piles of stone, I'm guessing it's fill material as opposed to excavated material, although I don't know what part of the country you're in. What's the application exactly? They just wanna compare volumes to what the bid said so they don't overspend?