Studying for Part 107 Test

Reaction score
I've been an aerial photographer for years and have logged many hours as a passenger in Cessnas and Robinson helicopters, and although I'm not a pilot I have picked up some things along the way, but there is much I don't know and want to be prepared for the test. I have the Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge. It's interesting but it's huge. I would like to know what are the most important parts to study to prepare for the test.

I have a theory I'm tempted to act on, but I don't want to have to take the test twice. After seeing some examples online, I feel that I can with certainty choose the correct answer to 50% of the questions. But 50% is not enough. However, it seems that one of the three choices is obviously wrong, so after ruling that one out, if I make a guess, I'll get half correct of the 50% I don't know, resulting in a passing score of 75%.

I know that's a minimalist way of approaching it, but it would be interesting to see if it works, though not so interesting if I have to do the test and pay $150 again.

Which "50%" of the questions are you unsure about?

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

All I remember I felt certain about half the sample questions. I don't remember any specifics.

Do you have any idea what parts of that book would be best to study?

I used a part 107 guide, so I can't honestly tell you how to study for it from the Pilot's Handbook.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Reactions: smills
You can find some study resources that were made specifically for the FAA Part 107 test here.