Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

No GPS

Discussion in 'Standard' started by davecarter39, Aug 17, 2017.

  1. davecarter39

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi everyone, I've been flying my 3 Standard for a couple of months and have been having a great time. I'm cautious and not a "spirited flyer." I have a question about my next step: what can I expect from flying indoors with no GPS? Will the drone still sit and hover if I let go of the controls? Can I still use "auto takeoff?" Is it basically the same? I flew over a hockey rink in the St. Louis are that was being torn down and I was tempted to fly in one side that had gaping holes but was afraid not knowing what to expect. Thoughts? Suggestions?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. 120CCPM

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Fly in A-Mode (ATTI), that's the almost the same as P-Mode when GPS is not available (P-ATTI). I say "almost" because in A-Mode, if the GPS signal is available, RTH will still work. In P-ATTI, by definition, there is no GPS signal.
     
    davecarter39 likes this.
  3. davecarter39

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks!
     
  4. WV. Rootman

    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    N.central wv. U.S.
    Metal can make your compass go crazy. Something between you and the phantom can make it lose signal. In atti it will drift. I would say flying into the stadium is not for the cautious.
     
    davecarter39 likes this.
  5. macoman

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2016
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    449
    You can take your phantom in an empty field with no trees or obstacles around and turn off GPS and practice in ATTI mode. That's how you can master and beat this mode in case you lost GPS.
     
    davecarter39 likes this.
  6. davecarter39

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you, that's a great idea. I appreciate your taking the time to reply!
     
  7. davecarter39

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks!
     
  8. stuka75

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2016
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    29
    Flying into a building will most likely impede your tx signal to ac causing signal loss at the ac. It will then attempt to RTH inside the building! Treelines, buildings etc, all can/will block signal to the aircraft.
    Aircrft will return to home in ATTI mode. Page ten of the manual.
     
    davecarter39 likes this.
  9. 120CCPM

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    RTH only works in A-Mode, not P-ATTI. Both are "attitude" modes, meaning that GPS is not used to control the position of the aircraft (only barometer for altitude), but A-Mode is a choice of the pilot (and GPS, if signal is present, is used for RTH), while P-ATTI is a "choice" of the AC when it does not have GPS lock (and in this case RTH will not work).
     
    davecarter39 likes this.
  10. davecarter39

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you!
     
  11. davecarter39

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you!
     
  12. davecarter39

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - GPS Forum Date
Fried GPS? Phantom 1 Help Tuesday at 12:31 PM
P3P Part 96 - GPS board connector replacement Pro/Adv Discussion Sunday at 11:20 PM
Weak GPS signal on P4P+ controller Phantom 4 Pro Help Sunday at 4:33 AM
Atti to GPS General Discussion Sep 15, 2017
What Drawbacks for Tablets / Phones Without GPS Pro/Adv Discussion Sep 11, 2017