Newbie question; recommended introductory flight planning, mapping &/or photogrammetry software

Reaction score
Hi,
Apologies in advance if this is a repeat question.
I’m a newbie with an interest in mapping and photogrammetry, but am a bit overwhelmed with the options available.
What would you recommend as good introductory packages for flight planning/autonomous image capture and processing? Ideally on a budget?
Any introductory info on use of ground control points would be greatly appreciated too.
I’m currently learning the basics with a P4 (basic) but looking to upgrade at some point.
Application would be for archaeology.
Thanks in advance.

What would you recommend as good introductory packages for flight planning/autonomous image capture and processing? Ideally on a budget?
The DroneDeploy app gives excellent flight planning and execution.
They also can do the image processing for you (not cheap).
But you can use the app free if you have an alternative for processing the images.
They have a 14 day free trial.
Any introductory info on use of ground control points would be greatly appreciated too.
Do you need GCPs?
You can generate a good orthomosaic with quite accurate horizontal positioning without.
But if you need them if you want the vertical to tie in to your local datum.

Reactions: Cain and Gagey52
Hello! I have been doing photogrammetry on archaeological investigations for years ( 4 - 5 ). I work really with Phantom 3 ADVANS. I execute the flights and the flight plan with the program "PrecisionFlight for DJI Drones". I work in the "free app" . And I process the data with "Agisoft" - "Metashare" . SUCCESS!