ND Filters for still shots

Reaction score
Question regarding ND filters. I'm still somewhat new to the photo game, and didn't know if the ND filters are for still shots or just video. I'm planning on taking some still shots to put on a website soon, but didn't know if the filters were beneficial for that purpose.

They are for both. In full son you will probably need nd16. Set your ISO as low as possible and then adjust shutter speed to get the exposure you want. A nd32 may be needed on really bright days because your aperture is fixed at 2.8

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

They are for both. In full son you will probably need nd16. Set your ISO as low as possible and then adjust shutter speed to get the exposure you want. A nd32 may be needed on really bright days because your aperture is fixed at 2.8

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
No ND filter will be needed for stills abscent the intent to introduce motion blur. Midday sun in in the open would be 1/3200s at ISO 100 for f2.8s (fastest available shutter speed of 1/8000 gives over 1 stop margin).

The primary reason for using a ND filter for recording video is to slow down the shutter speed on bright days. You want the shutter speed to be twice the frame rate to get the best picture. If you are recording at 60 FPS, then you want the shutter speed to be 1/120 second. A shorter shutter speed produces produces a "jello" effect on your video.

Another benefit is by getting a longer shutter speed, you don't see the propellers when the drone is tilted forward.

For still shots, a longer exposure can provide nice "creamy" pictures of moving water.

Ok, good to know. I should probably look for a decent set. I'm not a photographer, so I will need to do some research on how to change the camera settings to the situation. Is there a good book or website that can educate me on those basic photography skills?