From a beginner to a beginner (long text warning)

Reaction score
I initially wanted to chew some poor guy here on the forums a new one for crashing his expensive phantom and confessing that it was his first R/C "toy" ever and is still learning. That made me see red for a moment, but that feeling faded. But I felt the need to write this wall of text here.

Full disclosure, I am a beginner with an opinion. I have flown quads for about 2 months. No prior experience except wanting to.

I really really don't understand people who buy an expensive phantom as their first toy and then are surprised that they crash and total it. Did you really expect anything less? I get it some people have a lot more free cash floating around than others but ****... You have made so much free money but you don't have the intelligence to learn to fly first? Unless it was a lottery or trust fund money.. then I totally get it.

Why not buy a simple generic learning drone. I first got me a Syma X1, it's so light it can fall from pretty high up and if you train in a park the grass would make it almost invulnerable... almost.. I still broke some plastic, but that's 75 cents (just buy spare plastic parts with the drone) and yes, some soldering needed to remove motor to replace the plastic.. I never soldered before but it was not that hard, as it's a really simple, cheap drone.

You learn to fly with harder to control quads, that dont really hover in the air outside, you need to micromanage them a bit. You fly, you learn to do tricks (press the 360 degree button and yaw in some direction) and you just get the general feel of how to fly quads.