Every new step leads to new errors... and I truly believe I'm not an idiot

Reaction score
I mean, I could be an idiot. I think I have pretty good computer skills considering I used to be a professional photographer.

Now I can't even figure out how to EDIT my dang videos from my P4P+..... I have a Macbook Pro, shooting in .MP4, 4k 60fps, H264 codec..
Adobe Premiere Pro is worse than Michael J Fox....

what gives?

Imgur: The most awesome images on the Internet

Last edited:
D4eJyfY.png

Unfortunately that machine is not going to "Cut It" as you've discovered. You'll need at the very least an i7 processor, 32GB Ram and a 4GB GPU - Even the current mid-range Imac struggles. I built a Blackintosh w/i7, 32GB Crucial RAM, Gigabyte Z170 Motherboard, 3 SSD's - 2 @ 256GB 1 @ 1TB, (2) 1GB Western Digital Spinning Drives, 8GB EVGA GeForce GTX 1070, DELL P2715Q, Corsair Case, and Misc, stuff. Total Cost $2175.00 Cuts 4K like butter! Quiet as a mouse. Leaves my MacPro 1,1 and 3,1 in the dust!

Last edited:
Reactions: Danoldo and Pharm
For what its worth, I have a similar problem. I have no problems in either PP or AE at 2.7 K but 4 K is very stuttery. I just use proxies for editing the 4K stuff and all goes quickly.

Unfortunately that machine is not going to "Cut It" as you've discovered. You'll need at the very least an i7 processor, 32GB Ram and a 4GB GPU - Even the current mid-range Imac struggles. I built a Blackintosh w/i7, 32GB Crucial RAM, Gigabyte Z170 Motherboard, 3 SSD's - 2 @ 256GB 1 @ 1TB, (2) 1GB Western Digital Spinning Drives, 8GB EVGA GeForce GTX 1070, DELL P2715Q, Corsair Case, and Misc, stuff. Total Cost $2175.00 Cuts 4K like butter! Quiet as a mouse. Leaves my MacPro 1,1 and 3,1 in the dust!
I am squinting at you with fury in my eyes

I am squinting at you with fury in my eyes