Does not hold position during rotation.

Reaction score
I have a Phantom. I have calibrated the compass. When I fly in GPS mode it hold it's place but when I rotate it seems to fly off until I stop rotating. Is this common or am I doing something wrong? I have been flying for about a month and didn't notice it doing this when I first started flying.

Do you by chance notice the satellite status when this happens? when I fly around my house my phantom goes in and out 6 to >6 satellites (no red flashes to 1 red flash). I have noticed that it tends to drift a little from momentum for a little bit if the 1 red light is flashing verses when its all green. which I think is somewhat normal, but what do I know im just a newbie, could be relevant or completely irrelevant

You have to define "drift" when doing a 360 degree turn on the yaw axis. Assuming you don't move the right stick, and only yaw 360 degree's, the GPS will maintain a "Position" that is within 2.5 meters horizontally, and 0.8 meters vertically. So, it will not maintain an exact position throughout the rotation-but will appear to drift-within the 2.5 meter "limit".

Doing a perfect 360 takes a lot of practice. I do them in Atti mode-but I have an FPV transmitter+monitor, and a bit of experience.
Another thing you can do is this; get the Phantom going on a straight line, flip the IOC lever to Course Lock, then apply yaw, and see if it spins 360 degree's while maintaining a forward course.

Also-I recommend that when you're able, to upgrade to an FPV system, and add the iOSD Mini system. This will tell you on the screen how many satellites you have. It's possible on the rotation, that you may start off with only 6, but then lose reception from1, and this may cause you to lose the stability of the GPS.