Casual FAA Violations

Reaction score
I am new to droning but have a great deal of experience with R/C aircraft. Just purchased a P4P and am just waiting for better weather to break out of simulator mode. In the meantime I've been reading this and other drone sites.

What amazes and disturbs me is the widespread and casual boasting I find here of both altitude and distance-from-pilot violations by hundreds of drone pilots.
It was this outlaw attitude that made me hesitate about getting into the drone world. Not because I'm a compulsive rule keeper or ****-retentive but instead because these regs were put in place to protect others from our activities.
Imagine an unguided drone dropping out of the sky and lacerating your two year old child. Or piloting an ultralight and colliding with a drone at 900 ft AGL. Much more likely events if we don't show some self-discipline as a group.

Getting off my soapbox now. Throw rotten veggies if you want. No rocks or activated drones, please!

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Imagine an unguided drone dropping out of the sky and lacerating your two year old child. Or piloting an ultralight and colliding with a drone at 900 ft AGL. Much more likely events if we don't show some self-discipline as a group.

Sure. I'm equally concerned with the widespread disregard and lack of respect for the rules when it comes to driving automobiles! Speeding, rolling through stop signs, changing lanes without signalling! It's everywhere!

Imagine a driver not stopping at a stop sign and plowing through a mother pushing a stroller carrying her newborn twins! Or not signalling their right turn and colliding with a bicycle rider!

I am new to droning but have a great deal of experience with R/C aircraft. Just purchased a P4P and am just waiting for better weather to break out of simulator mode. In the meantime I've been reading this and other drone sites.